Where Next?

It’s been a while. I’ve missed you. I do hope to be back with some more frequency… at least for the next month while I’m in a good routine. But after that one month? Well, who knows. Who knows how often I’ll be blogging, where I’ll be, or what I’ll be doing.

In exactly one month I will have finished my 3-month contract at this school in Panajachel, Guatemala. I will have said goodbye to the kids and to my colleagues, will have collected my final pay cheque. And on that day, one month from now, what will I be preparing for? Which direction will I be heading?

Quite likely, the near future will involve a short visit to family and friends in Canada. Will that be after I have traveled further South or will I go straight from Guatemala? Who knows. After my visit home, will I be rushing off to explore the UK? Will I be heading out to meet my friend for a bike tour starting in Vietnam? Or will I continue South from here until I get into South America? Maybe I’ll get camping gear and become an avid hiker/climber in South America, or the Himalayas. Volunteering as a guide for Quetzaltrekkers would be a pretty cool experience and I’d have many great experiences, all while helping out the local community.

Wherever I end up next, I wouldn’t change this life for anything. Knowing that I could be anywhere in the world one month from now… And not knowing where I will be… It’s thrilling! It’s calming. It allows me to live the life I want to live right now. Perhaps this is what Personal Freedom means to me. Going wherever my heart desires at that point in time. Doing whatever I feel is best for me… and for my wallet.

I’ll let you know when I book a plane ticket… or when I don’t.

Share your thoughts!

