What is Home?

A house is a home when it shelters the body and comforts the soul.

– Phillip Moffitt

In the traditional sense, home takes the form of a house (or apartment). And the house becomes home when it comforts and shelters. This has been my truth for almost my entire life. Even in my adult life – having lived in 11 different houses in 11 years, across 3 countries – home was always my house. It was the place I went to sleep at night, the place I felt comfortable. It was a physical space that was mine. And it was always near those I love.

But now… home is a puzzling concept for me. The question is not when is a house a home? But rather,

What is home?

I did some online searching and found a couple of recurring ideas:

  • Home is a specific place – a house, city, a place you currently live or used to live.
  • Home is a person/people – family, friends, a significant other.

There are so many people like me out there – nomads. We don’t have a house or an apartment and don’t live near loved ones.

We might spend a few days or weeks (or even months) with the same person/people, but then we move on. Those shared moments can make a place feel like home, as do the comforts of some places we sleep. But home is always changing. Today’s home may not be the same tomorrow, next week, or next month.

We have many temporary homes as we wander, defined by both spaces and people. The spaces change. The people change. But there is one thing all these homes have in common: they exist in our world. 

My home is planet Earth.  

At the end of the day, it isn’t where I came from. Maybe home is somewhere I am going and never have been before.

– Warsan Shire

This post was inspired by the weekly blogging event, In Other Words.

 

4 thoughts on “What is Home?

  1. Interesting thoughts. Not being much of a traveler I haven’t thought about not having a permanent place that’s home. While considering this, I came to the conclusion that home is where you are at peace. Doesn’t matter the place it’s a state of mind…or heart. Thank you for sharing with, In Other Words. Your post made me think and I like that.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Normal Life | WanderLaur

Share your thoughts!

