Waiting For Perfection

Today, I stumbled across this quote on Rantings of a Third Kind:

If I waited for perfection, I would never write a word.

  • Margaret Atwood

This is my problem, precisely. I get all these ideas. I think through entire blog posts in my mind while drive, walking, or staring out a bus window. Sometimes I jot notes down for later, but I often don’t get back to the same frame of mind. I just don’t feel that it’s perfect like it was when I was thinking it.

Or I’ll begin to write a post, and maybe even review and edit a bit, but then I’ll leave it for a later date – so I can perfect it. And I never come back to it (or I do, but it never becomes “perfect”). I suppose I have very high expectations for myself. I don’t want to publish posts that I’m not fully satisfied with because it may not attract the readers I want. If I can publish the perfect posts, then any reader who would ever stay will stay. If I publish imperfect posts, some would-be followers may pass by without a second thought.

I know I’ll get better at writing, better at editing, and better at feeling perfection in my posts. And I know that to get there, I just have to keep writing, practicing. It seems so easy. And yet I can’t seem to do it.

Let me try this. A public pledge. That I will finish every assignment in both the writing101 and blogging101 courses. I will put aside one day each week to check in on my drafts and edit or delete as I see fit, publishing any post that I don’t delete. On this same day each week, I’ll check my notes and write a post for any notes I still think are worthy of a post. Thus, all my drafts and notes will be cleaned out weekly. This should lead to at least a couple posts a week, if not more. I won’t fret about imperfection and worry about readers passing my blog by. As long as I continue to write and post, I’ll get better, people will read, connections will be made, and all the other wonderful things that come with being a blogger. I can either post imperfect posts and start improving or post nothing and stand still.

So to you, dear reader, I pledge to post regularly and without fear. Feel free to hold me to this.

Do you struggle with the waiting-for-perfection problem? How do you deal with it?

7 thoughts on “Waiting For Perfection

  1. Perfectionism has been the bane of my life, I would like to say for years, but sadly it is decades. A few years ago a friend told me about their interpretation of the 80:20 rule, with 80% being good enough. Which made me think, I would be happy with 80% in an exam, that would be a Distinction or A grade. So I am trying to apply their approach ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by and leaving a thoughtful comment!
      I’ve never heard of the 80:20 rule but I like the idea. In the end, I think it’s all about moving forward as best you can. If stressing about perfectionism is holding us back, then being “imperfect” might actually push us further toward our goal. Does that make sense? I hope your 80/20 rule helps you stress less and move forward faster. I’ll keep that in mind when I’m struggling!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I hate those second-guessing thoughts! I’m sure that some of our best works are those we don’t over think. Thanks for stopping by and, especially, for commenting! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: It’s never too late…….. | Loving my Pancreas

  3. Pingback: A Sincere “Thank You”! | WanderLaur

  4. Pingback: A Sincere “Thank You”! | WanderLaur

Share your thoughts!

