Belated March Post

I wrote this a few weeks ago, but didn’t post it… so let’s call this a belated post while I formulate my blog  from Peru.

As I sign on to my blogger account for the first (or second?) time in 2012, I see two friend’s who have begun their most recent blog post with something along the lines of “I’m so busy I haven’t had time to write…”. Ditto! But not really…. I’ve actually been less busy because now I’m a super teacher. However, with my new found freedom, I’m finding more me time, which hasn’t included blogging…

Personal – Social
Let me start by telling you about the best 5 days of my year so far… when my PARENTS were here! YAY!  😀  About two weeks ago, my folks decided to venture into midland Mexico for an entirely new Mexican experience – there’s no beach, mornings are cold, and food isn’t included in the price – yikes! I am happy to say that they absolutely loved their time here (at least I think they did). They were very pleased to see that I live in a gated residence (oops- forgot to mention that one), and I think they quite enjoyed the sights and sounds and the overall culture. I was sad to see them go, but I’m so happy that they were able to not only see me in my new home but have this great Mexican experience (of course their experience continued on the West coast with my Dad’s brother and sister-in-law, and ended with a more familiar few days on a resort). Let’s plan for next year, k?

More exciting news! I’m happy to report that my best bud (of the roommate sort) and her fiance have set a date for their wedding! Oooooh boy!!!!! Congrats Kate and Kyle! I can’t wait to celebrate with you (and get you both sloshed on your wedding night – tehehe)!!  😀

What else has been up lately? Well, I saw a small boy pooing on the sidewalk Friday… yes, that’s right – on the side of one of the busiest streets here! There was a mother, a boy, a newspaper, and some sort of tissue to wipe up with. I was laughing for many minutes to come.

Personal – Deep within
Before arriving in Mexico, I had reached a point in my life where I was almost completely content with myself, lacking any concern for the opinion of others. Of course, I must emphasize the almost because this is an incredibly difficult goal to attain in our world. I lost touch with this when I came to Mexico for several reasons:

  1. I was thrown into a situation where I do not know anyone. As someone who isn’t a “small-talker” and doesn’t connect on the same level as many people, I found myself alone a lot. This is perfectly fine with me most of the time. However, I found myself beginning to think about how others see me. I suppose you could say I was craving approval.
  2. Teaching may be one of the few professions where it is actually quite important how others see me. Not my friends, co-workers, or supervisors, but the students. As a teacher, I need to be always conscious of what I am doing and how my actions are interpreted by the students, so that I can set a good example. This then raises the question, what kind of example do I want to set for my students, and what interpretations do I want them to have? But let’s not get into that now.
So I have recently realized my tragic fall away from the ideal and toward the norm of approval. Of course, one we are conscious, we can make changes. So I am going back to the place I was at before I came here. Hopefully within time, I will be able to reach the goal completely. It’s funny, though, that the slip away from personal self-satisfaction was initiated by a concern for others, which would seem to be initiated by a lowering self-satisfaction…. I cannot decide which came first.
So why am I telling you all this? Well, in preparation for the big Inca Trail hike (4 days!), I recently purchased a hiking pack. That led me to think more about the life I have often dreamed of – having all my personal belongings with me, and having no permanent residence to “go home” to. In my online search of “will this bag make it past security as a carry-on?”, I stumbled upon The Minimalists and many other webpages of people who travel or live with very little. 
As a conclusion, I would love to have a job where I can travel and not have a permanent residence. Any time I stay in one place for a while, I begin to buy things to decorate that place, or things that can’t be moved easily. These are expensive and don’t give me any real satisfaction. 
I then began to think about how much money we really need to live a good life. How much income is absolutely necessary for the lifestyle I am happy living? But, then again, is this realistic in a future that may involve children of my own? I’d love to hear thoughts/opinions on any of this.

Final Words
I want to give a shout out to Kate and Maegan for the super awesome skype date Thursday. And a big thanks to Brad and Anna for being just as awesome spontaneous add-ins. Let’s do it again!

Today’s lyrical thought: Save your strength for things that you can change, forgive the one’s you can’t – you gotta let it go. Love those Zac Brown boys (my research tells me this is their original song – though I did learn there are a lot of songs with the title Let It Go). But seriously, time spent hung up on small insignificances is no more than wasted time. Let it go!

Until next time.

One thought on “Belated March Post

Share your thoughts!

